Multimedia charity

I only caught half an hour or so of last night’s Comic Relief (was having toga issues at the time…) but I couldn’t help noticing how multimedia-orientated it was this year. The normal lines of communication were of course there (phone voting, physically collecting with buckets etc) but you could also donate by text and by pressing the red button. I thought this was a very clever way of getting people too lazy to write down a phone number and go ring, to do their bit. I think it also opens doors for other charities to raise money: could we soon see a whole new ‘donations’ page on the red button multiscreen?

6 Responses to Multimedia charity

  1. Lindsey Cole says:

    I have already commented about this on “Social Monkey’s” blog.

    But watch this…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6KWiuhDGCVs

    A sketch in Comic Relief on what life would be like if we took Facebook into the real world. It’s mentioned frequently on television nowadays,along with twittering and the rest.

    As for charities and donations. I’ve done quite a bit of charity events and they generally jump on anything involved with social networks/multimedia as a means of getting donations. I definitely think the red button will be used by more charities. Even perhaps a feature length Oxfam advert….”if you can’t read the number at the bottom of the screen…DONT WORRY… just press the red button and donat.” Easy!

    PS love your presentation. Ssshh, but it could have been my favourite.

  2. Lindsey Cole says:

    PPS- that was meant to read “donate” not “donat”. was thinking of the one I had earlier today!

  3. Rob Moulin says:

    Hi Rachel,

    agree with your thoughts on Friday`s event. The texting ‘thing’ really struck me as pretty clever. First, as you point out, it caught those with lazyitus (?), but also it made the sum of £5 suddenly appear a throw away amount – ‘hey, no problem, just text, interact with us, its only £5 and fun’ – very cute, and what a great result.
    However, what I really wanted to flag up here is the use of multi platform media in the Fritzl case. Today on Skynews.com, not only were there video clips of the trial, online postings of the proceedings, but also a(now almost inevitable) Twitter feed, direct from the trial. Certainliy innovative. But, does it really add to the telling of the story – that minute by minute, blow by blow account?
    Personally, I found it all a little intrusive, the way the feed took up half the web page; and a little weird. Do I, as the user, really need to have for my understanding, an up to the minute retelling of what is happening in this horrifc case? What do you think?

  4. Rachel says:

    Rob,

    I completely agree with you on both counts. I don’t ‘follow’ Sky on Twitter, so I wasn’t aware of the deluge of tweets from the trial. But like you I can’t help feeling rather uncomfortable about it all. I think if we’re not careful we risk going down the route of ‘multimedia-fying’ every single news event for the sake of it and losing our discretion as to the suitability of the format for that case.

  5. joshvardey says:

    I completely agree with this- are they trying TOO hard? There’s a difference between getting news in different formats but being bombarded with tweets, red buttons, flashing gimmicks… what about focussing on the facts? Things can easily get clouded, diluted or twisted. Yes, we have access to all these platforms but we have to realise that sometimes less is more.

  6. Rob Moulin says:

    Josh,

    I think they are trying too hard. Its seems to me a case of – its availalble, its cool, so lets do it. I fail to see how a twitter feed of a rape/murder/incest/enslavement case constitutes valuable, professional journlism. Are there really voyeurs out there just waiting for the next 140 characters of Fritzl sickoness to tweet through? Surely not too many of them. Instead of adding to the telling of the news, I feel it brings it down to being no more than a ticker rahter like that of the latest stock prices, or cricket score.

Leave a Reply

