The life of a 21st century multimedia journalist…

I’ve written a very quick script for the live “life of a multimedia journalist”. Let me know what you guys think – I thought we could involve everyone in a bit of am-dram acting to liven it up…

ALARM GOES OFF

 

 

 

 

 

SWITCH ON RADIO

 

 

 

TURN ON LAPTOP, TV?

 

GET DRESSED

 

 

“AT WORK”: NEWS MEETING WITH ALL OF US?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

GRAB M AUDIO, CAMERA, PHONE

 

 

 

“SOME TIME LATER” – EDITING?

This is the life of a modern journalist.

 

This is almost certainly the sort of day we’ll be having when we go into the workplace.

 

First thing to do: listen to the Today programme to catch up with breaking news.

 

But then there’s also TV news, local radio, the internet: there’s just so much to take in. And that’s before you even start work.

 

R: We need to do the new homes story.

S: Yes, definitely, it can be for TV. But we need it for radio too. Rachel, do a two-way we can run on the drivetime show.

C: Yeah, and it’d be a good online story. When you get back can you write a bit for the website?

J: Also, can you get some mobile content uploaded?

R: Er, I guess, but when am I gonna research and edit it?

S: Don’t panic, you don’t need to talk to anyone, just grab a quick interview.

 

S: And don’t forget to Twitter while you’re there!

 

R: God, so much to do, so little time. I want to talk to the Environment Agency but I have to update the website. And it’d be good to talk to some local people, but I’ve got to do the drivetime two-way. I’m not properly handling the story, but I haven’t got time. And now my package looks rubbish cos I didn’t have time to edit it. I really don’t feel like a proper journalist any more.

 

One Response to The life of a 21st century multimedia journalist…

  1. pyemaster says:

    Getting that way isn’t it!

Leave a Reply

